Incarceron by Catherine Fisher ❥ Book Review

Series: Incarceron (#1)
Release Date: February 8, 2011
Format: Paperback- 442 pages
Source: Bookstore
Sequels: Sapphique (#2)
More Info: Goodreads, Author’s Website

 

 

 

 

This book is just a breath of fresh air. So original, I’ve never read anything that even resembled it a little. The writing is fantastic and so is the storyline.

It’s a story of two people, in two entirely different worlds.
On the inside, Finn is a prisoner in the vast Incarceron, a prison with a living mind of its own. Although Finn has no recollection of his past, he is somehow sure he came from the outside.
On the outside, lives Claudia. Her world, controlled by a high-tech computer system, is a kingdom stuck in the 17th century. She is the warden’s daughter, a prisoner in her own life, trying to escape an arranged marriage her father made for her. She is determined to save Finn.

This book made me smile, laugh, cry, clutch my book in horror, and above all, it made me think. It amazed me how there are two entirely different stories here, about entirely different lives, that were so amazingly intertwined with each other. It made me think how at the end of the day, even thought originally I thought one life must have been better than the other, I don’t know what I would have chosen for myself.

The characters are interesting, easy to relate to and really fun to read about. This book is one big adventure that leads you on in anticipation till the very last page and gets you running to get the sequel right away! Overall, I really enjoyed reading this book (and Sappique, as well!) over a weekend, curled safe in my bed. Plus, I absolutely cannot wait till the movie adaptation for this book comes out in 2013!

The Glossover:
Originality: ★★★★★
Writing: ★★★★★
Cover: ★★★★☆
Over all: ★★★★★

Happy reading, everyone!

Leave a Reply

