Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater ❥ Book Review

20121002-042422.jpg

Series: The Wolves of Mercy Falls (#1)
Release Date: August 1, 2009
Format: Paperback- 392 pages
Source: Airport bookstore
Sequels: Linger (#2), Forever (#3)
More Info: Goodreads, Author’s Website

 

 

 

So I’ve finally come around to reviewing my favorite book of all times. Since it’s been over a year ago that I’ve discovered this amazing series, I re-read it this week for the purpose of making this review and fell in love all over again.

This is the first book I’ve read by Maggie Stiefvater, but she already became one of my very favorite authors (I can’t wait to read The Raven Boys!). Her writing is absolutely fantastic. She is very captivating and keeps you from putting your book down for even a minute! The story itself is told from two different points of view, Grace’s and Sam’s, and through her amazing writing I could actually tell who was “speaking” without having to look in the beginning of the chapter to see who it was. She really captured each character’s personality through the book.

This is one of the sweetest love stories I’ve ever read. You cannot help but fall instantly in love with the world of the wolves and the love that Sam and Grace share! There was not a dull moment in this book- every single page of it was fascinating and enjoyable. I have to mention the amazing songs Sam wrote throughout the entire book- I think they were what made me connect to the story even more. I would find myself singing them to myself for a whole week after I finished the book!

Another thing that cannot go unsaid is the amazing design of the book. The cover is beautiful and I absolutely loved the way they matched the inside to the outside- in Shiver, the book is written in light blue ink, in Linger, in green and in Forever it’s red, all to match the various covers! I just thought that it was very unique and artistic of Maggie and gave it a really nice touch.

Like I mentioned before, this is my absolute favorite book of all times and if you haven’t read it yet, I highly recommend it!

The Glossover:
Originality: ★★★★★
Writing: ★★★★★
Cover: ★★★★★
Over all: ★★★★★

Happy Reading!!

Leave a Reply

