Matched by Ally Condie ❥ Book Review

20120930-122905.jpg

Series: Matched (#1)
Release Date: November 1, 2010
Format: Paperback- 369 pages
Source: bookdepository.com
Sequels: Crossed (#2), Reached (#3)
More Info: Goodreads, Author’s Website

 

Where do I even begin?! From the second I started reading Matched, I knew it will become one of my absolute favorite books of all times. Matched is a dystopian novel told from Cassia’s point of view. Cassia is a 17 year old girl living in a world where the Society decides everything about her life- what to eat, what to learn, where to work, and most importantly, who to be with.

This book was addicting! Ally’s writing just pulls you in and never let’s you out- even when you’re no longer reading the book! At times when I would put my book down, I would keep thinking about it non-stop, how life would be if we lived in a place like the Society, what’s going to happen with Cassia next, Who she is going to end up with…

The book itself was gripping. The entire first half of the book I was so convinced that the way the Society works was actually not too bad- I was thinking that from all the dystopian novels I’ve read so far, this was the only world I could actually imagine myself living in. Needless to say, at some point I realized how messed up the Society really is.

I loved every second of this book. I felt like I could tell what a hard dilemma Cassia had between Xander and Ky and I was feeling a little torn myself! Cassia is such a strong character that I felt myself hoping that if I was ever in her shoes, I would act the same way. I was at the end of my chair, biting my nails in anticipation and horror at everything that has happened to her. For me, this was just one of those books I only put down when I could no longer keep my eyes open to read it.

If you have been thinking of getting into the dystopian genre (The Hunger Games, Divergent, The Maze Runner, etc.), this is my recommendation to you- it was fun, light, interesting, exciting, refreshing and everything an excellent book should be! I loved, loved, loved it!!

The Glossover:
Originality: ★★★★★
Writing: ★★★★★
Cover: ★★★★★
Over all: ★★★★★ *

*If I could give this book more than 5 stars, I would.

Happy Reading!!!
xx, Yael (:

Leave a Reply

