Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder ❥ Book Review

20120930-122905.jpg

Series: Study (#1)
Release Date: June 1, 2004
Format: Paperback- 405 pages
Source: bookdepository.com
Sequels: Assassin Study (#1.5), Magic Study (#2), Fire Study (#3)
More Info: Goodreads, Author’s Website

This book was… Wow. I really am speechless at how amazing this was.

It was not even a little like what I anticipated, I expected a dystopian novel that’s similar to The Hunger Games or Divergent, but it was nothing like them, which made it even better!

This is a story of Yelena. She has been convicted to murder and awaits her punishment- execution. Only hours before her hanging, she is being led to Valek’s office. He is the Commander’s security chief, a poison master, an assassin. He offers her something she has never anticipated at this point: a life- to work as the Commander’s food taster and be in constant danger of being poisoned, but a life none the less.

Yelena’s character is just absolutely perfect. She’s strong, opinionated and independent. She had a tough life before arriving at the castle and becoming the food taster and her past still haunts her. In the castle she changes- becomes the person she was too afraid to be, puts her trust in people she had just met and forms true friendships. She even falls in love.

The story was amazing! Maria’s writing is extremely gripping and I felt myself get sucked into the story the second I started reading it. I absolutely loved Valek’s character and found myself rooting for him the entire time. Maria did a wonderful job portraying his and Yelena’s characters throughout the book and most times I felt like I could actually understand what was going on in their heads.

This was an extremely unique story. It was a blend of dystopian, fantasy and romance, all in just the right amounts! I loved how Maria even threw a little bit of magic into the mix. This was definitely one of the best books I’ve read this year ever! Amazing, amazing, amazing!!

The Glossover:
Originality: ★★★★★
Writing: ★★★★★
Cover: ★★★★★
Overall: ★★★★★

Happy Reading!!
Yael (:

5 thoughts on “Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder ❥ Book Review

  1. I saw this one a long time ago and I still can’t believe I haven’t picked it up !!! Have you read Grave Mercy? The premise reminds me of it a little bit… And I loved Grave Mercy! I’d be interested to hear your thoughts if you’ve read it too 🙂

Leave a Reply

