Delirium by Lauren Oliver ❥ Book Review

20121016-231934.jpg

Series: Delirium (#1)
Release Date: February 1, 2011
Format: Paperback- 441 pages
Source: bookdepository.com
Sequels: Hana (#1.5), Pandemonium (#2), Annabel (#2.5), Requiem (#3)
More Info: Goodreads, Author’s Website

 

 

When I first heard about Delirium, I really liked the idea of a world where love is forbidden, a disease. It was obvious to me that I really wanted to read it, especially since I recently got into reading a bunch of dystopian novels, but the cover totally threw me off. I’m the kind of person that judges a book by its cover (I know its awful, no need to tell me) and I really dislike this one. I had this sitting in my room for about 2 weeks before finally deciding to pick it up and start reading. I did not regret it.

Delirium is the story of Lena, a seventeen and a half years old girl that awaits the operation everyone is so eager to get. The operation that will cure her of the Deliria, of love. In Lena’s world, love, or amor deliria nervosa, is a disease and at the age of eighteen you get Cured. Lena is so excited, she’s counting down the days until her operation, until she start her new life as a Cured. But then she falls in love.

When I first started reading this book, I couldn’t stand Lena, she seemed to make all the wrong choices, was too submissive and just way too goody-two-shoes. But (and that’s a big but), as the book progressed, so has she. She started thinking for herself, showed some very great acts of bravery and actually lived for once in her life!

The love story of this book was extremely cute. The constant danger they were in made the book extremely gripping and hard for me to put down. The characters were great- I especially liked Hana, she was strong, independent and as opposed to Lena, she actually thought for herself since the very beginning. Also, I just really liked the friendship she had with Lena which was extremely cute.

The writing was really good too! I loved, loved, loved all the small “quotes” Lauren added to the beginnings of chapters, which made the whole thing a lot more gripping and had me sucked into the story just that much more. I especially loved the poem in chapter 6- it was the most frightening yet beautiful thing I’d read in a while.

But the ending…. was just the best and worst thing in the world! I am just so stunned by it and cannot wait to read the next book in the series!!
Overall, this book was really fun to read and I enjoyed every minute of it!

The Glossover:
Originality: ★★★★★
Writing: ★★★★★
Cover: ★★
Overall: ★★★★☆ (4.5)

Happy reading!
Yael (:

One thought on “Delirium by Lauren Oliver ❥ Book Review

Leave a Reply

