The Maze Runner, by James Dashner ❥ Book Review

20120924-171019.jpg

Series: Maze Runner (#1)
Release Date: October 6, 2009
Format: UK Paperback- 384 pages
Source: bookdepository.com
Prequel: The Kill Order (#0.5)
Sequels: The Scorch Trials (#2), The Death Cure (#3)
More Info: Goodreads, Author’s Website

I have been contemplating on what to write about this book for almost 2 weeks. This book just left me so confused- I loved and hated it all at the same time.

This is the story of Thomas, a boy of appox. 16 years old. When he wakes up in the Glade, he has no recollection of his past, he cannot remember any faces or names from his pre-Glade life. In the Glade, he encounters a group of boys, who are all in the exact position he’s in- trapped in the Glade, a place surrounded by an unsolvable maze. For 2 years, every day a group of Runners go to search for a way to solve the maze, every day they fail. Even though Thomas knows all the risks involved, he has an unexplainable urge to join them and become a Runner himself. Only problem- time is running out.

The storyline was amazing, very gripping and totally lovable and so were the characters! I loved Thomas and felt like I could somewhat relate to him throughout the story. I felt his struggles, his pain and his brief moments of joy. Also, I absolutely adored Theresa’s character and I really think she made the whole thing come together the way it did.

But at the same time, I just didn’t enjoy the way this book was written at all. The beginning was horrible, all those “slang” words inserted every other word in the first couple chapters just got me so confused and made the whole reading experience really unenjoyable. I felt like I had to over think every sentence I read and I found myself stopping at every new chapter and trying to convince myself to go ahead and read it. I’ve even started (and finished) a new book while reading this one.

At some point I got sort of used to the horrible writing, but I really wish it had been written by a different author, since the story itself was so good.

The Glossover:
Originality: ★★★★★
Writing: ★
Cover: ★★★★ (UK version)
Overall: ★★★

Happy Reading!
Yael 🙂

One thought on “The Maze Runner, by James Dashner ❥ Book Review

  1. I liked your review – analytical and honest. And I agree totally!! The idea for the story was amazing, the author just didn’t deliver. Sadly, the second book has all the same issues… I’m not sure that I can handle reading the third. He’s completely killed my enthusiasm to find out “what’s really going on” by continuing to drag it out.

Leave a Reply

