Unearthly by Cynthia Hand ❥ Book Review

20121101-221129.jpg

Series: Unearthly (#1)
Release Date: January 4, 2011
Format: UK Paperback- 435 pages
Source: bookdepository.com
Sequels: Hallowed (#2), Radiant (#2.5), Boundless (#3)
More Info: Goodreads, Author’s Website

 

 

 

Before I started reading this book, I didn’t know what to expect- I haven’t read a whole lot of books about fallen angels (or Nephilim) before this one and I was completely new to this genre. As soon as I started reading Unearthly, thought- I fell in love.

Unearthly is the story of Clara. She is part angel, part human- or Angelblood. Just like any other Angelblood placed on this earth, Clara has a Purpose, a thing she is destined to do. When Clara starts seeing visions of a boy in burning woods, her entire family moves to a place nearby so she could get close to him and complete her purpose. Her entire life turns upside down when she enters the same school as the the boy’s and realizes there’s no way an un-popular girl like her can get close to the hottest guy at school.

This book was absolutely phenomenal! Wow. I haven’t heard the best reviews about angel books before reading this one, but I think it might be an exception to the rule. The storyline was so gripping! I loved Clara’s character and found her to be really relatable. Cynthia’s writing was fantastic as well! I literally could not put the book down for even a second!

I found myself thinking about this book long after I finished reading it! It quickly became one of my favorites! I cannot wait to read the sequel Hallowed! Overall, very, very, very recommended!

The Glossover:

Originality: ★★★★★
Writing: ★★★★★
Cover: ★★★★★
Overall: ★★★★★

Happy Reading, everyone!
Yael 🙂

Leave a Reply

