Enclave by Ann Aguirre ❥ Book Review

20121128-235945.jpg

Series: Razorland (#1)
Release Date: April 12, 2011
Format: Paperback- 288 pages
Source: bookdepository.com
Sequels: Endurance (#1.5), Outpost (#2), Horde (#3)
More Info: Goodreads, Author’s Website

 

 

 

As you can probably tell by most of the books I’ve read in the last couple of months- I am on an insane dystopian kick. Picking up this title was a no brainer for me. I figured it would be similar to The Maze Runner, which it sort of was- but I didn’t expect it to be this enjoyable.

Enclave is the story of Deuce. She has been trained her entire life to be a Huntress, and finally, she’s going to get to be one. As a huntress, Deuce has to go out each day with her partner to the scary and dangerous underground tunnels, where she has to fight the horrible not-quite-human monsters named Freaks and collect food for the rest of the enclave. Without the food she provides along with the other hunters and their protection- they’d all die.

After her naming ceremony, Deuce is being paired up with her hunting partner, Fade. Fade is the only person in the history of the enclave to have been brought from the outside, after surviving there no less than 2 years all by himself. He is a stranger- not just to her, but to the entire enclave. They hadn’t truly accepted him, since he wasn’t enclave-born and will never really belong. Deuce can’t help but feel sorry for herself to be paired with such an outcast, but Fade fascinates her, and as he opens up to her and shares his story, she realizes her entire life was a lie.

This was a very slow read for me (5 days for a book that’s shorter than 300 pages!), since I’ve been so busy with school lately, but I found myself stealing some moments to read in-between classes or on the bus, just anytime I have a spare second to myself! The story was fascinating. I adored the way Aguirre made the classic story of The Day Boy and The Night Girl intertwine with her own. I loved the whole adventurous theme this book has and the dystopian world the author created.

I loved Fade’s character, a lot. I thought he was really complex and I really enjoyed what he brought to the story. I also loved Deuce’s strong character and found myself feeling sorry for her when her entire world she has believed in all her life came tumbling down.

Throughout the book, I kept finding myself making references to The Maze Runner, even thought the story itself isn’t really similar in any way, my mind kept bouncing back, as if on its own, to what I’ve read in Dashner’s dystopian novel. I guess the overall vibe from this book was pretty similar- if you liked The Maze Runner, you’ll like this one, and vise versa.

Bottom line, this was a really fun and enjoyable book, and if you’re into the dystopian genre as much as I am- you’ll love it!

The Glossover:

Originality: ★★★★
Writing: ★★★★★
Cover: ★★★★★ (The cover is gorgeous!)

Overall: ★★★★

Happy Reading, guys!
XO, Yael 🙂

Leave a Reply

